Problem with Authentication

Hello, I followed the examples in these two pages to create a very simple authentication mechanism.

The authentication works fine when I add

Context.Authorize();

to the Init() method of each ViewModel independently
However, when I only add it to the MasterPage ViewModel in order to require authentication over all my pages I instead get a very strange behavior, where I am getting a page loading while redirects are added to the url resulting in something like this:

going on for many lines, but you get the point.
Any ideas as to why that might be? I’ve never worked with Authentication before so any ideas are welcome!

At first glance, it seems like you are also calling Context.Authorize() on the login page, getting you into a redirect loop.

I also looked for something like that at first, but on my Login.dothtml I only have this:

public override Task Init()
{

return base.Init();
}
 services.AddAuthentication(sharedOptions =>
 {
     sharedOptions.DefaultScheme = CookieAuthenticationDefaults.AuthenticationScheme;
 })
     .AddCookie(CookieAuthenticationDefaults.AuthenticationScheme, options =>
     {
         options.Events = new CookieAuthenticationEvents
         {
             OnRedirectToReturnUrl = c => DotvvmAuthenticationHelper.ApplyRedirectResponse(c.HttpContext, c.RedirectUri),
             OnRedirectToAccessDenied = c => DotvvmAuthenticationHelper.ApplyStatusCodeResponse(c.HttpContext, 403),
             OnRedirectToLogin = c => DotvvmAuthenticationHelper.ApplyRedirectResponse(c.HttpContext, c.RedirectUri),
             OnRedirectToLogout = c => DotvvmAuthenticationHelper.ApplyRedirectResponse(c.HttpContext, c.RedirectUri)
         };
         options.LoginPath = "/login";
     });

this is my Authentication service on Startup.cs copied directly from the documentation.

and this is the way I add my Login page in DotvvmStartup.cs in case this helps at all

config.RouteTable.Add("Login", "login", "Views/Login.dothtml");